Breakfast Week 3-Seed Crackers

 

DSC_8703Now that sounds like a weird breakfast! I was really craving this nut & seed bread that I made a while ago and while I was searching for the recipe I came across these seed crackers. They are literally just seeds soaked in water, baked until crisp! They make a perfect snack; I ate them for breakfast this morning with a little bit of peanut butter.

1/4 cup peptia seeds (pumpkin seeds)

1/4 cup unsalted sunflower seeds

1/4 cup chia seeds

1/4  cup sesame seeds  (I only had about 1/8 cup to use and they turned out fine)

1/2 cup water

1/4 tsp salt

DSC_8674

Mix the chia and sesame seeds together in a bowl. Add in the sunflower seeds, pepita seeds, water and salt and mix. Let sit for 5 minutes until water is absorbed. Spread mixture out onto a lightly greased, parchment paper lined baking sheet. The recipe I used said to spread it out into a circle about 11″ in diameter.  I only got mine to about 9″ but they still turned out good! Bake for 30 minutes at 325. Remove from oven and use 2 spatulas to flip the circle over. Cut into cracker size pieces (I used a pizza cutter). Bake for 5 more minutes at 325, then reduce oven temp to 250 and bake for 20 more minutes.

DSC_8677

Seeds are a great snack to get into! Pumpkin seeds help maintain a high energy level, Sesame seeds help control harmful cholesterol, Chia seeds are high in calcium (6 times more calcium than milk), and Sunflower seeds are an excellent source of Vitamin E!

DSC_8701

Leave a comment